When using the Standard cookie mode, customers and prospects who visit your Act-On landing pages, forms, or any web pages containing the Act-On Beacon Tracker, they will be asked via a pop-up message if a cookie may be placed on their browser.
- If they consent, an opt-in cookie will be placed and they will not be asked again.
- If they decline, they will be asked again on each trackable page they visit.
Note: A web developer can use CSS to make minor modifications to this message, but text and overall setups can't be edited. Additionally, this pop-up message does not cover consent for cookies used by any other services on your website.
If you want to holistically manage your cookies and/or provide a custom opt-in message, simply follow this guide.
When a message recipient clicks on a link in an email message, an intermediate page will appear before they get to their target destination, asking if the opt-in cookie may be stored.
For customers whose organizational policies place restrictions on the tracking of website visitors, or who are subject to the European Union ePrivacy Directive, GDPR, or CCPA related to tracking cookies, you can choose to implement one of the cookie tracking modes described below.
You can set the tracking modes while setting up the Beacon, or at any time afterwards.
This option is an account-wide setting that allows you to interact with customers and prospects without setting any Act-On tracking cookies from web page visits, form submits, or message clickthroughs. This option provides the most complete set of website metrics by automatically saving tracking information about every prospect to your website. Your prospects browsing experience will not be affected.
Which features and reports are available with this option?
- Message responses tracked in individual message reports, Contact and Account Reports
- Anonymous landing page and form views
- Anonymous website prospect traffic, if you choose to place the Act-On Beacon Tracker on your website
This account-wide setting does not cookie your visitors at all. Visitors will not be tracked, and all visitors will appear as “anonymous” in Website Prospector. This mode is not recommended unless you must comply with strict privacy regulations.