Deleting Lists without Deleting Contacts
Is it possible to delete a list without deleting the contacts within it? My company previously had some bad habits and kept 100s of lists instead of one master list. I'm trying to clean everything up without deleting vital information. So if I move everything over to a master list with segments, is it possible to delete the old unnecessary lists without deleting the contacts in those lists?
We don't have a limit to the amount of lists you can have in your account so they are free to keep the process they had. However, if you wanted to create a main list that contains all the records this is possible. You'd want to utilize a list maintenance programs to copy the contents of the other lists into the main list.
If you have more question on how to set this up we can create a support ticket and help you further.
Kyle Ansted - I realize that there isn't a limit to list numbers, but that isn't best practices. I just want to know if I delete these old lists after creating a master list, will the contact information be deleted from the system with it? (Essentially removing them from Act-On altogether.)
The contact records activity history (Webpage Visits, Email Activity, Etc...) will stay intact when they are deleted from a list. However, any data on that list will be deleted along side the record.
Please sign in to leave a comment.